Compaq Presario CQ50-106AU laptop – Spec and price

cq45-50

Best Price :: INR 31,500/-

Processor, operating system and memory

Processor type AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor for Notebook PCs QL-60
• 1.90 GHz, 1 MB L2 Cache
Operating system installed FreeDOS
Standard memory 1024 MB
Memory type DDR2 667 MHz
Memory layout (1 x 1024 MB)
Maximum memory Supports up to 4 GB DDR2 memory
Internal drives
Internal hard disk drive 160 GB
Hard disk controller SATA Hard Disk Drive
Hard disk drive speed 5400 rpm
Optical drive type SuperMulti 8X DVD±R/RW with Double Layer Support
System features
Memory card device 5-in-1 integrated Digital Media Reader for Secure Digital cards, MultiMedia cards, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro, or xD Picture cards
Modem High speed 56K modem
Network interface Ethernet 10/100BT integrated network interface
Wireless technologies 802.11b/g WLAN
Wireless capability Bluetooth® wireless networking
External I/O ports 3 USB 2.0, 1 HDMI connector, 1 VGA port, 1 RJ45 ethernet connector, 1 RJ11 modem connector (Configurable), 1 Headphone out, Microphone in, AC adapter
Display size 15.4” WXGA High Definition BrightView Widescreen
Display resolution 1280 x 800
Video adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8200M
Video RAM Up to 319MB Total Available Graphics Memory
Speakers and microphone Altec Lansing® speakers
Keyboard 101 key compatible keyboard
Pointing device Touch Pad with On/Off button and dedicated vertical Scroll Up/Down pad
Power supply type 65 W AC Adapter
Dimensions / weight / warranty
Weight 2.65 kg
Dimensions (W x D x H) 35.7 cm (L) x 25.6 cm (W) x 3.705 cm (min H) – 4.443 (max H)
Warranty statement 1 year, parts and labour
About saysprasad

Im a freedom lover.
This entry was posted in Laptop PriceList and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Compaq Presario CQ50-106AU laptop – Spec and price

  1. GURMEET says:

    were to find drivers for compaq presserio cq50-106au notebook full drivers

  2. tushar says:

    i recently bought compaq presario cq50 106au amd athlon .. but the laptop is giving problems. when iam playing any game it simply turns off without any warning even when the battery is more than 80% charged .is there a problem with the processor speed or anything related to the compatibility of my graphic card ..plz someone help
    u can mail me any suggestions at tusharbits@gmail.com

  3. saysprasad says:

    Hello Tushar,
    The problem seems to be with the driver please try reinstalling the driver.

  4. tushar says:

    well i reinstalled the driver but the problem is still there.
    is there a problem with the display card?

  5. saysprasad says:

    Hello Tushar,

    Please see the installation instructions here

    https://saysprasad.wordpress.com/2008/09/09/compaq-presario-cq50-106au-drivers-for-windows-xp/

    and see the section on

    I. Manual Installation Help for (04. VGA/Display)

  6. Paritosh says:

    Hi Prasad,
    I am planning to buy this one. Can u tell me the performance of speaker and where can I get the best buy. I m at delhi.

  7. Aditya says:

    hi prasad….followed ur instructions and everything is fantastic….saved my hours of searching by providing all drivers at one single place…hv one small query – the WLAN seems disabled and i cant enable it….and ur instructions on installation says abt finding “Ethernet Controller” in Dev Mgr but i only see “Network Controller”…..if u cud be kind enough to guide me on that……my WLAN is not working

  8. eljoe mathew says:

    i recently bought Compaq Presario CQ50-106AU laptop . installed xp2 now the problem is if i use my headphone the speaker stops working.
    can anyone please let me know wether its the problem with harware or sound drivers?

    Eljoe Mathew
    Trivandrum
    ljomathew@yahoo.com

  9. saysprasad says:

    Hello Eljoe Mathew,
    Its a normal senario. If you are using a headphone the laptop speakers are automatically muted.

    Thank you,
    Prasad.S.R

  10. Kshitij says:

    Hi Prasad,
    I am looking to buy this Laptop,since my basic requirement was of a free OS and a graphic chipset with a decent processor and memory.
    So, would this be a gud buy or do you have any other recommendation that is or wud be better than this one,given that my range is under 35K.
    Thanks.

  11. nikunj says:

    Hi Prasad,
    Two months ago i have bought compaq presario cq50-106au.i have some problem with them when i use the laptop in flat surface after some time it suddenly turn off without giving any warning and the bottom surface is too hot.Is there any over heating problem?please give me the solution of this problem.

    • Amar Narkhede says:

      The problem is due to overheating of the heatsink in the laptop. Check for laptop coolers (FANs) on ebay and purchase. Pricing starts from 299 to 499. Excellent ones..This will definitely prevent the laptop from shutting down.

    • tech says:

      I had that same problem and i had to open the laptop up and clean out the clogged up heat sink it had lint and dust keeping it from getting normal air, and this compaq are good for clogging up over heating and shutting do the a bad design on the heat sink air space

  12. Rakesh says:

    Hi Prasad,

    I also have this laptop, please help i m facing a problem that when i connected my mic headphone with my laptop, I am not able to hear the sound from my headphone sound comes from laptop speakers, please help is there drive problem or with headphone slot problem?

  13. PRASHANT KS says:

    THIS MODEL HAS MIC OR NOT AS I CANNOT HEAR VOICE WEN RECORDING VIA WEBCAM.
    PL HELP

    PRASHANT

  14. Eljoe Mathew says:

    Hi Prasad,
    I was getting problem with xp with comp_precq50106au.
    so i upgraded to vista 64. now everything is working very fine. only problem is my headphone is not working. is there any seperate drivers for this. or is there any headphone hardware which can be plugged thru USB port?
    if so please suggest me a buy.

    regards
    Eljoe Mathew
    Trivandrum
    ljomathew@yahoo.com

    • Amar Narkhede says:

      Check the drivers on internet. You can do so by starting Device Manager -> Sound Card -> Properties -> Update Driver -> Search on internet. This might solve the problem.

  15. amerkindman says:

    hey buddy

    could you plz tell me where to find Compaq Presario V6329EA Notebook for WinXP FULL (drivers)

    I’ve searched so hard , but only I get few drivers not the complete ones for my Winxp sp2

    thanks in advance..

  16. Ashish says:

    this cq50-106au is getting extreamly overheated..iam using the lappy from 8-8-2008 and day by day heat is increasing it shut downs even its fan is working well…this lappy is real hell ….. no reply from hp.

  17. pradeep says:

    hi, i am selling d laptop cq40145tu.mine selling price is 32000.
    i purchased it for 40000.just 1month back.
    if any body interested plz contact 2 my emailid:pradeep.ankalkoti@gmail.com

  18. arnab says:

    yes i am also facing the same problem .. the bottom surface and even the area above the left speakers are getting too much hot after a couple of hours .. eventually shutting down .. please provide some solution to this … is thsi covered under the warranty .. neone of u facing the problem tried that ?

  19. Eljoe Mathew says:

    Hi Prasad,
    I tried a lot to rectify my headphone speaker problem.
    when i use headphone and then unplug it the speakers don’t work…
    please help.
    even now the cam its not working some times. i use vista 64. and cyberlink youcam..

    regards
    Ljo Mathew

  20. Bhavesh says:

    hello,
    i need drivers of cq60-104tu…. pls help me…

  21. NSG says:

    hello,
    i am also facing the problem of overheating and it also burn my leg too.
    what is the solution?
    any response from company?

  22. mohit kumar says:

    hi prasad ,
    its mohit
    my laptop model is compaq presario cq50 106au
    when i will get to install chipset driver in for win xp proffectional. i will get a pan error .i know your instruction for loading driver of them.but also we dont get the last three driver from your instruction.
    plz help me.

  23. devin says:

    my girlfriend has a compaq presario cq50 and it seems to shut down due to heat after watching a streaming video online. Now i dont know about anyone else but she bought this laptop for the price so why would i wanna go out and by a cooler for almost the price of the laptop? doesnt make sense to me. This laptop is not even a year old…

  24. vinnie says:

    hi Prasad,
    I am looking to buy the CQ50 106au as this is the only one that is around a 30k (that’s what I am willing to spend) with an advanced graphics card like an NVIDIA but the only grey area that I see is the heatsink issue with the AMD Athlon. But hearing about the heating issues with this machine doesn’t gimme courage enough to go buy it. What do you reckon?..do you think it’s a good option buying this one or is there any other machine you suggest…Thanks in anticipation.

    • saysprasad says:

      Hello Vinnie,

      I haven’t experience heating issue that’s beyond ideal conditions, you can go for these two models. CQ60-101AU or CQ50-106au

      Regards
      Prasad.S.R

      • tech geek says:

        hey ppl !!! I have changed 3 laptops since i got the job in it sector and im warning u all guys (with best intentions) that DONT EVER BUY AMD PLATFORMS ON LAPTOP !!!! AND DONT BUY HP ONES {OR COMPAQ ) CUZ THEY GOT THE WORST COOLING .U’ll defintely face heating issues !!!! (EVEN THE C2D ONES)!!!! DONT IGNORE THIS WARNING OTHERWISE ULL BE SORRY LIKE ME !!!! I’ll never buy an HP again and even worse with AMD !!!!

        • rajan says:

          grrrrr ! I wish i had read your post before buying hp shit 😦 he is right guys ‘DONT BUY HP LAPTOP’ ! o god im screwed !

  25. Richard says:

    I had the problem of the Atheros wireless assistant saying that the wireless was disabled when I switched it on. I resolved this by un-installing the HP Wireless Assistant and the light went blue when I switch it on and it connects perfectly. Hope this helps any of you having a problem with this issue.

  26. srkaranth says:

    Hi Prasad,
    First i shud say thanks a ton for instructions and drivers given for Compaq Presario CQ50-106 AU. I completed all drivers installations as per the instr’s given. I faced an errror in installation of audio driver and audio is not detected in device management. Hence give me some advice to go about this.
    Warm Regards
    SR.Karanth

  27. vivek says:

    hello sir,

    i downloaded all the drivers bt i am not getting wireless lan, it is very imp bcoz in my coll there is wi-fi so pls give d link…..

  28. ARUN says:

    I own a CQ50 106au i lost my charger and in 2 months span i got new one but, now my lap is working only on ACpower as soon i disconnects, it is turning off, is there any internal problem or i have to change my battery if,to change how much a battery costs

  29. billy says:

    anyone have any reccomonded fan coolers [links or anything] for this laptop?

    i figure that since MOSt of the heat is coming from the front left rear of the laptop, maybe coolers with a fan on the left rear would be most effecient?

  30. billy says:

    as opposed to the fan coolers where there are two fans right in the middle

  31. ABDUL says:

    HOW TO SWITCH OFF THE SCREEN OF THIS LAPTOP……..

  32. Dani says:

    Is the hdmi jack built in? i see one but theres like a hunk of plastic covering and i cant remove it

  33. nitesh says:

    thankyou saysprasad sir. i had no driver of for compaq presario cq50 106au of nvidia graphics. but i istalled these driver from your site and i follow ur instuction and i succesfully installed driver thanks a lot sir u r gr8

  34. Giri says:

    Sir,

    I have a Compac CQ50-106AU laptop. Sir, I had given a password for BIOS . But I unfortunately forgot the password….
    could you please send me tips to overcome this problem.

    waiting for your tips ….

    thanks…

  35. Saim says:

    awsome laptop.. can i know the exact price and its full coniguration right here. i compared this laptop with another one but im totaly confused which one i should i use.
    http://what-is-the-price-of.com
    thanks

    • maneesh says:

      pls dont buy this..its havin lots of problems ya.,..
      i had already paid more than 12000 for maintanance..
      processor wil get overheated while usin in highperformance

  36. shridhar says:

    hi guys, ..even i bought cq50-106au drivers 2 years back..i installed windows xp..same struggle , first to find drivers and then to install them.. I faced heating issues with windows xp ..tried everything but no solution. I realised that in no way my laptop supports windows xp. then i switched to windows 7 ..i found all drivers on compaq website..now my laptop remains cool (gpu temp-76 deg.c )…..i think this laptop users should stop using windows xp on their laptop and should switch to windows 7…(for windows 7 u need to have 2 gb ram atleast)

    if anyone is planning to buy this laptop ..pls pls pls dont buy it…

  37. Kumar says:

    Hi Prashad, I am using Compaq Presario CQ50-106AU. i have multiple problems with this notebook.
    1)It over heats up and ends up in shut down when i do multi tasks.
    2) I want to use video-audio recording using in-built webcam. I think there is no in-built mic in this model. so i attached mic.
    When I Chat on Y-messenger, Skype or any other chatting zone the video and voice is perfect.

    But i want to record a video with voice. Using the webcam software given inside. and it is not working. video recording is perfect. but no voice.

    Kindly Help

  38. dheeraj says:

    i want 1gb graphics card
    pls hlp me

  39. Nitesh says:

    If anyone has succeeded in installing audio and wireless drivers for compaq presario cq50-106au please mail me at nitesh.feb89@gmail.com. I am using windows XP and unable to find these drivers please need help.

  40. knavin says:

    wn i select screen saver msg on the screen is change video card. is it prblm of hardware or driver?

Leave a Reply

